James Penney’s New Identity and Other Stories

James Penney’s New Identity and Other Stories from Thriller:  Volume One, edited by James Patterson

Rating:  * * * *

Short stories are a good way to check out new authors. I rate this audio collection four stars because it’s so helpful to me to find this sort of collection when I’m searching for authors I haven’t read before.

Lee Child’s short story in this collection, James Penney’s New Identity – a prequel of sorts – stars Jack Reacher in a secondary role. Having never read a Jack Reacher novel, let alone a Lee Child story, this was a treat and I have added the Reacher series to my wish list.

Denise Hamilton will not go on my authors-to-seek list, based on her underwhelming-in-the-brains-department heroine in At the Drop of a Hat.

Eric Van Lustbader’s story The Other Side of the Mirror is wonderfully detailed, although the style is not to my taste – but if a movie comes out based on his works I would consider it.

Raelynn Hillhouse’s story Diplomatic Constraints is crisp and enjoyable and I’ll look for more of her work.

Gayle Lynds’ story The Hunt for Dmitri is interesting, though forgettable and rather loosely woven.

Narrators on this collection are Dick Hill, Mel Foster, Michael Page, and Susie Breck.  All are excellent.

