The Word Exchange

The Word Exchange:  A Novel by Alena Graedon

(c) 2014 Doubleday

Genre:  Fiction

Rating:  * *

I love words and word plays, and word flu coupled with a conspiracy theory as a plot line nearly makes me giddy.

Words have become a commodity sold on the Word Exchange.  As the populace turns more and more to uber-smartphones to communicate, language and vocabulary are relegated to the past.  The Word Exchange holds a monopoly on word definitions, having bought out nearly all the dictionaries in existence, and as reliance on The Word Exchange grows, the ability to remember words disappears.  At the same time, a terrible Word Flu further wreaks havoc on language and communication.

The footnotes are distracting.  Anana and Bart, the narrators, mope obsessively.

I do like the trail of bread crumbs left by Doug.

I wanted to love this book.  It pains me to say I found it rather tedious.

Thank you to Doubleday and NetGalley for the copy of the book I received in exchange for a review.

