The Godforsaken Daughter

The Godforsaken Daughter by Christina McKenna
March 2015, Lake Union Publishing

Rating: * *

Nicely stitched together. Quite an unusual set of circumstances leads to the intersection between Ruby, Jamie, and Henry in a little town in Northern Ireland.

The incidental characters like the attorney who reads the will are so neatly drawn I can see them clearly in my minds eye.

The main characters have victim written all over them, which is the reason I rate the book 2 stars. The sundry side characters, however, are enormously entertaining and prevent the story from sliding into melancholy. Were they the main characters, I’d rate this 4 stars.

Thank you to NetGalley and Lake Union Publishing for the copy I received in exchange for an honest review.

