I Hear a Red Crayon

RedCrayon

I Hear a Red Crayon: a Child’s Perspective of Her Brother’s Autism
by Bonnie Feuer
(c) October 2015
The Connecticut Press and Independent Book Publishers Association (IBPA)
Genre:  Children’s Nonfiction

Rating:  * * * *

A combination of the title and the cover image drew me to this book about a girl growing up with an autistic brother.

The illustrations really make this book work:  I felt an instant connection with the confusion and disorder as well as the breakthrough moments of joy and understanding through the black-and-white images.

While the text may appeal mostly to older kids and young adults, the illustrations make the book equally – or perhaps even more – accessible for younger children.

Thank you to NetGalley, The Connecticut Press, and IBPA for the Advance Reader Copy I received in exchange for an honest review.

NetGalleyBadge

